Author Topic: Replacement aluminum AC compressor vs. rebuil  (Read 2063 times)

Blkjack

• Forum Member
Replacement aluminum AC compressor vs. rebuil
« on: August 12, 2021, 09:56:52 AM »
Anyone here used the newer style aluminum A6 compressor in place of the OEM steel type. Pro's and con's?

81Blackbird

• Oracle Forum Member
Re: Replacement aluminum AC compressor vs. rebuil
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2021, 10:34:29 AM »
Had mine for a few years now.  Seems to do the job well.  Smaller, lighter but still pulls the RPMS down like the old A6

5th T/A

• Oracle Forum Member
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2021, 01:30:04 PM »
I can speak from personal experience on the A6.

A6 are prone to a leaking front seal. In the early 70's when I worked on cars for a living, we replaced a lot of A6 compressor seals. Supposedly the carbon ceramic seal needs to be run somewhat frequently or it will leak. Not a good thing for a car that might sit for months without being driven. Even with frequent use they were somewhat prone to leaks, as I remember Cadillacs had a metal shield around the front clutch to help catch the oil slinging from the front pulley. They suck more horsepower than modern compressors. They weigh a lot more, take up more space and are noisier than modern compressors. The only plus I can think of is they look OEM. You may get a poor quality rebuild that doesn't hold up. If it self destructs, metal fragments could contaminate your AC system.

In my mind the only downfall of a modern compressor is the look. I suppose if you paint it black it might blend in better. There are multiple brands out there. Some might be better than others.

1980 T/A with a Pontiac 461

Gone but not forgotten;
1973 T/A 455
1975 T/A 400
1978 T/A W72
1982 T/A cross fire injected

Two wheel toys;
2014 Harley Ultra Classic Limited
2013 Honda CB1100
2010 Yamaha Vmax
1982 Yamaha Seca 750

olds403

• Oracle Forum Member
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2021, 03:50:49 PM »