Author Topic: GM 10 Bolt 8.5" Rear End Rebuild Thread  (Read 3079 times)

EscapeRacing

• Active Forum Member
  • @sapgarage
    • SAP Garage & Escape Racing
GM 10 Bolt 8.5" Rear End Rebuild Thread
« on: March 26, 2021, 11:03:53 AM »
I had all this posted previously, but am resurrecting to add to the new content. I decided to take out the stock rear end from my 1979 Trans Am which was a 2.41 posi and switch it to a 3.23 posi. This was a huge learning experience and hoping it helps some future builders.

I am not a professional - this is all being done in my garage by myself. I am also listing all the parts and costs for reference - you could probably do this cheaper professionally, but i wanted to give it a shot myself.

One important thing I learned early was there are two different carriers - a Series 2 and Series 3. The Series 2 takes ratios up to about 2.73 and if you want to go higher (3.08, 3.23, 3.73, etc) you need to switch to a Series 3 carrier (or use an adaptor which is not highly recommended).

Here's my journey in pics and explanations. I am breaking this into a few posts in case something goes wrong...

I started by buying a complete 10 bolt on Craigslist for $150 with a 3.08 (thus 3 series carrier) so that I could build the new rear end and still drive the car until i was ready to swap it out.

@sapgarage

EscapeRacing

• Active Forum Member
  • @sapgarage
Re: GM 10 Bolt 8.5" Rear End Rebuild Thread
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2021, 11:10:22 AM »