2020-B1-10

Author Topic: Power trunk, where to plug in?  (Read 485 times)

b_hill_86

  • Active Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 688
Power trunk, where to plug in?
« on: July 25, 2019, 05:21:25 PM »
Dumb question but where the heck is the plug for the power supply to the trunk release? I added a release a month or so ago and tapped into the glovebox light with a splice connector (easiest at the time). I have the glovebox out and bezel off working on other stuff so I was looking for where the trunk release would plug in and I CANNOT find a plug on the glovebox harness.

-Brian-

1977 Trans Am 400 4 speed

Jack

  • Oracle Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10878
  • 1971 Esprit TA Clone W72 1972 Formula 68 350 HO
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2019, 06:17:18 PM »
It's a separate harness, you can make your own and grab power from the main harness that goes to the trunk.




Regards, Jack

Grand73Am

  • Oracle Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10151
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2019, 06:27:05 PM »
I haven't searched for the connector on my TA. The manual shows it connected to a clock, lighter, courtesy lights orange wire that runs from the fuse panel to a 3 wire connector, that the trunklid release switch wire plugs into, basically connecting up with that constant power orange wire. It's just a simple line drawing, so I can't tell what it really looks like. I installed  a power trunk release on my Lemans and like you, just used the power wire to the glove box light.
Steve F.

Jack

  • Oracle Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10878
  • 1971 Esprit TA Clone W72 1972 Formula 68 350 HO
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2019, 06:44:42 PM »
It's been a while since I've done it to my 71 but I'm trying to remember if the trunk portion of the wiring was part of the harness. I've documented and post the installation on TAC. Someone else had similar questions and was able to find my post, do a search and you should find it. I'll do the same and bump the post up.




Regards, Jack

b_hill_86

  • Active Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 688
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2019, 06:47:59 PM »
Alright I’ll have a look. I was under the impression that since I have the light package (courtesy, trunk and glovebox) that the connector for the trunk release was in there somewhere too. On the trunk harness it has a male plug and a female plug as if it goes in between an already existing plug.

-Brian-

1977 Trans Am 400 4 speed

b_hill_86

  • Active Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 688
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2019, 06:54:30 PM »
I found your thread. I think I was the past guy asking about it too lol. Looks like you tapped into the fuse box for power. Mine works spliced into the glovebox light. I should leave well enough alone I suppose. I just thought if the plug was in there somewhere I’d use that.
-Brian-

1977 Trans Am 400 4 speed

Grand73Am

  • Oracle Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10151
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2019, 06:54:54 PM »
I believe the orange/power connection for the switch is in the glove box side of the dash somewhere. Then there would be a black wire that runs from the switch all the way back to the trunk solenoid. I have another TA project car with that option. I'll take a look tomorrow and see if I can find the connector.
Steve F.

b_hill_86

  • Active Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 688
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2019, 07:42:52 PM »
That’s be awesome. Thanks. I thought it was back there too but I’ve been trying to blindly trace it and I CANNOT find anything.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2019, 07:52:03 PM by b_hill_86 »
-Brian-

1977 Trans Am 400 4 speed

b_hill_86

  • Active Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 688
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2019, 08:42:33 PM »
For anyone else looking I may have found my answer finally. Based on looking at a picture of a new harness online, an original harness online (not as good of a pic but still helpful) and after FINALLY finding it on my wiring diagram I’m coming to the conclusion that cars with the light package but without the deck lid release do not have the extra plug to power the deck lid. All of those show a black wire, a white wire and TWO orange wires (one with a black stripe and one without; both coming from the same terminal). I found the same connector for the lighting package (courtesy, glovebox and trunk lights) in my car and it does not have the extra orange wire for the deck release. Maybe it changed in later years or maybe someone yanked mine out for some reason. Who knows?
-Brian-

1977 Trans Am 400 4 speed

Grand73Am

  • Oracle Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10151
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #9 on: July 26, 2019, 09:33:58 AM »
Here's the connector. White, orange, and black going in at the bottom and going out at the top, 2 oranges going out on top, plain orange going to trunk switch. Orange/black stripe going elsewhere.

007 by grand73am, on Flickr

014 by grand73am, on Flickr
Steve F.

b_hill_86

  • Active Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 688
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #10 on: July 26, 2019, 10:55:29 AM »
Orange with stripe is glovebox I think. Mine looks identical to yours minus the extra plain orange one. Thanks for helping me clarify though.
-Brian-

1977 Trans Am 400 4 speed

stros

  • Oracle Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1618
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #11 on: May 23, 2020, 05:13:54 PM »
I found an NOS power trunk kit #994763 but the wiring looks a bit different than what I've seen you guys post in this and other threads.  Mine came with the long black wire which I've already successfully routed down the driver side of the car from the trunk solenoid.  Is the end of that black wire supposed to go into one side of the button prongs?  Then I should connect this orange wire to the other button prong and route it to the other side of the fuse box?  Or do I have the wrong wiring altogether here?



Thanks!
« Last Edit: May 23, 2020, 05:19:33 PM by stros »
Darryl

'77 black TA Hardtop LS3 / 4L70E swap
Build thread:
http://transamcountry.com/community/index.php?topic=61066

Maxthe222

  • Active Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 661
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #12 on: May 23, 2020, 06:34:34 PM »
That might be NOS, but it's not for a firebird. So to properly explain, the power trunk motor has a single black wire that's like 3m long that has a single white connector clip on it. That connector clip attaches to one of the single prongs on the back of the yellow trunk release button. Then, the other prong connects to another connector that comes off the interior courtesy light wiring harness, that connector is the orange wire. The power is drawn from the light harness and there is nothing different about wherever the light harness plugs in. Now what's just dawned on me writing all that out, what if you had a car that does not have the interior light option? That could be what you're all referring too.... Oh well can't hurt to add in the light harness for floors and box?
1979 T/A Y84 WS6
1979 F/A W72 WS6
1971 Formula 400 4-Speed

stros

  • Oracle Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1618
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #13 on: May 23, 2020, 06:43:41 PM »
Ok, thanks Max.  GM box says it fits a 2nd gen Camaro (not sure if their setup was different than the T/A) and has 994763 and 1838J4 part numbers on it).

I think I'll splice into power elsewhere as I don't really want to have to add the under dash harness.

Here's a pic of the installed solenoid.


Here's a pic of the long black wire pre-install:

« Last Edit: May 23, 2020, 07:34:30 PM by stros »
Darryl

'77 black TA Hardtop LS3 / 4L70E swap
Build thread:
http://transamcountry.com/community/index.php?topic=61066

Maxthe222

  • Active Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 661
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #14 on: May 23, 2020, 07:08:22 PM »
Did Camaros even have a power trunk? Looking at the pics it's 100% not a stock firebird one. The firebird had the wire hardwired into the unit and the physical unit looks alot flatter compared to the rounder somewhat boofier firebird one. No doubt it will work the exact same way however looking at the connectors
« Last Edit: May 23, 2020, 07:53:07 PM by Maxthe222 »
1979 T/A Y84 WS6
1979 F/A W72 WS6
1971 Formula 400 4-Speed

Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #14 on: May 23, 2020, 07:08:22 PM »


2020-B1-8


stros

  • Oracle Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1618
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #15 on: May 23, 2020, 07:30:47 PM »
From my research, they may have had the option in 1980-81.  I believe a Camaro buyer could've purchased this trunk release kit from a dealer post purchase as well.  I had expected to see the same exact parts from the various Firebird installs on here, but as you can see there are some differences.

Here are the Camaro instructions that came in my box.  It had several other model instructions included, including the Chevelle and Monte Carlos.  Hence it looks like many GM cars of this time period had the same exact power trunk setup.


I found a thread on NastyZ28 discussing installing this kit in Camaros.
https://nastyz28.com/threads/power-trunk-release.60725/page-2




Darryl

'77 black TA Hardtop LS3 / 4L70E swap
Build thread:
http://transamcountry.com/community/index.php?topic=61066

b_hill_86

  • Active Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 688
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #16 on: May 23, 2020, 07:47:24 PM »
Interesting. The wiring actually looks like the same as what I bought off eBay when I originally posted this thread. The solenoid I have looks different though. As far as wiring, you could probably unplug whatever is plugged into the batt terminal (or ign terminal if you only wanted it to work with keyed power) and plug the deck lid release into that then take what used to be plugged in there and plug it into the female end of your deck lid harness.
« Last Edit: May 23, 2020, 08:05:37 PM by b_hill_86 »
-Brian-

1977 Trans Am 400 4 speed

Maxthe222

  • Active Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 661
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #17 on: May 23, 2020, 07:56:45 PM »
I can't stress how much I love the power trunk, when I first got my Y84 everything was really howyagoing electronically, and everytime I had to get a girl's bags or the T-Tops out of the trunk, I'd have to stop and take the key out to go unlock it. It's really a fantastic option to have and it's so simple to install and operate. Also, that {THUNK} you hear when you press the button is so... Ahhhhh... satisfying to say the least!
1979 T/A Y84 WS6
1979 F/A W72 WS6
1971 Formula 400 4-Speed

stros

  • Oracle Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1618
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #18 on: May 23, 2020, 08:04:56 PM »
Interesting. That’s actually the same as the kit I bought off eBay when I originally posted this thread. It might not be for a Firebird but it works just fine.

Cool that makes me feel better :D.  Now I just need to find the easiest way to power this thing.
Darryl

'77 black TA Hardtop LS3 / 4L70E swap
Build thread:
http://transamcountry.com/community/index.php?topic=61066

b_hill_86

  • Active Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 688
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #19 on: May 23, 2020, 08:06:38 PM »
I modified my post above reference the solenoid but also added an idea about wiring.
-Brian-

1977 Trans Am 400 4 speed

stros

  • Oracle Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1618
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #20 on: May 23, 2020, 08:29:53 PM »
I modified my post above reference the solenoid but also added an idea about wiring.

Thanks - I don’t have anything currently plugged into the bat terminal you mentioned.
Darryl

'77 black TA Hardtop LS3 / 4L70E swap
Build thread:
http://transamcountry.com/community/index.php?topic=61066

Maxthe222

  • Active Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 661
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #21 on: May 23, 2020, 08:31:48 PM »
Oh allow me to clarify that further too, yes you are right in saying that if you ordered the Y92 Lamp Group without the A90 Trunk Release, you wiring harness would not have the connector for the trunk pop. I learnt that the hard way when I paid $55 for a wiring harness and started looking for an extra plug a year later! If you ordered both A90 and Y92, you got a glove box door with a hole in it, and a specific wiring harness that had a different plug at the end that was slightly bigger and had the orange lead that came off it that connected to the yellow button. I suppose you could directly route it to the battery terminal, and I can imagine it would draw power over time, because it does work when the key is not in ignition as it's on the same harness that operates the courtesy lights when the doors open. However, if you had both the light harness and the trunk release, connecting it to the battery may defeat the purpose of having the lights on for when you open the door. If you don't have the wiring harness for the lights, you could directly plug the trunk release into the socket the lights would have gone into. It can't draw that much power on its own as it's just a single wire that won't even run current to the kicker unless the button is held. It'll probably draw the same kind of power but the clock would use in the tach
1979 T/A Y84 WS6
1979 F/A W72 WS6
1971 Formula 400 4-Speed

stros

  • Oracle Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1618
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #22 on: May 23, 2020, 10:07:35 PM »
Thanks guys for all of the help.  Max - do you know where the socket that the lights would’ve gone into is located?
Darryl

'77 black TA Hardtop LS3 / 4L70E swap
Build thread:
http://transamcountry.com/community/index.php?topic=61066

Maxthe222

  • Active Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 661
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #23 on: May 23, 2020, 10:16:39 PM »
Should be a plug coming off the main wiring harness that hangs around the speedo cluster. The plug for the light harness is a 3 prong plug that is around the centre of the dashpad kind of near the radio if your car is mostly unmolested
1979 T/A Y84 WS6
1979 F/A W72 WS6
1971 Formula 400 4-Speed

stros

  • Oracle Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1618
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #24 on: May 23, 2020, 10:25:06 PM »
Should be a plug coming off the main wiring harness that hangs around the speedo cluster. The plug for the light harness is a 3 prong plug that is around the centre of the dashpad kind of near the radio if your car is mostly unmolested

Cool thanks - I’ll search for it in the morning.
Darryl

'77 black TA Hardtop LS3 / 4L70E swap
Build thread:
http://transamcountry.com/community/index.php?topic=61066

Wallington

  • Active Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 383
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #25 on: May 24, 2020, 12:14:54 AM »
It branches out from the lighter harness and rear window relay if need to trace back to plug. Or follow the white extension wire from door plunger.

1978 main dash harness with lamp group_LI by Aus78Formula, on Flickr

Dash Harness 78 TA cleaned 4_LI by Aus78Formula, on Flickr


stros

  • Oracle Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1618
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #26 on: May 24, 2020, 06:18:33 PM »
Related question - I did have one item plugged into the BAT area after all, but I can't get the connector to disengage from the fuse box.  It's been a few years since I've had to fiddle with the box - is there a tool I need to remove these connectors?  Same issue I'm having with the connector attached to the trunk release prongs.
Darryl

'77 black TA Hardtop LS3 / 4L70E swap
Build thread:
http://transamcountry.com/community/index.php?topic=61066

b_hill_86

  • Active Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 688
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #27 on: May 24, 2020, 07:14:43 PM »
No tool that I’m aware of. I just unplugged one of mine the other day and it came right out.
-Brian-

1977 Trans Am 400 4 speed

stros

  • Oracle Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1618
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #28 on: May 25, 2020, 09:32:44 AM »
Yeah I’m a little worried that I’ll break something if I pull it out too hard.

For the courtesy light harness, is it as simple as plugging that harness into the bat section of the fuse box to power it up?  I found the harness at Lectric Limited with the power trunk release option (part 41154).


https://www.lectriclimited.com/courtesy-light-harness-114092
Darryl

'77 black TA Hardtop LS3 / 4L70E swap
Build thread:
http://transamcountry.com/community/index.php?topic=61066

b_hill_86

  • Active Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 688
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #29 on: May 25, 2020, 10:30:41 AM »
I don’t see why that wouldn’t work but that’s not where it got power originally
-Brian-

1977 Trans Am 400 4 speed

stros

  • Oracle Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1618
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #30 on: May 25, 2020, 10:37:56 AM »
Thanks!  Unfortunately my efforts this morning continue to be unsuccessful to pull the connector in the bat slot out.  Not sure what I’m doing wrong.
Darryl

'77 black TA Hardtop LS3 / 4L70E swap
Build thread:
http://transamcountry.com/community/index.php?topic=61066

firebirdparts

  • Jedi Council
  • Oracle Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18805
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #31 on: May 27, 2020, 09:54:03 AM »
I don't think there's any catch that clicks in there.  That looks like it must be an "add on" sort of kit that doesn't use the original power source, so I think you're doing it right.
I want to be like Paul Kenny when I grow up
Joe Bays
1977 Y82 4-speed (red interior)
1978 Skybird 350
1978 Redbird 305
1979 Redbird 301 4-speed
1992 Lincoln Mark VII LSC/SE (red)
1970 Datsun Pickup
1953 Chevy pickup (converted 4x4)
1988 T-bird Turbo Coupe

stros

  • Oracle Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1618
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #32 on: May 27, 2020, 10:39:20 AM »
Ok thanks.  It sure seems like it clicked in there.  Any ideas on some tool to slip in there to squeeze the connector and get it out?

Darryl

'77 black TA Hardtop LS3 / 4L70E swap
Build thread:
http://transamcountry.com/community/index.php?topic=61066

b_hill_86

  • Active Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 688
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #33 on: May 27, 2020, 11:42:33 AM »
Can you take a picture of the connector that’s stuck? Maybe it’s not factory? All of my connectors in my 77 are just slide on type. No locking tab or anything.
-Brian-

1977 Trans Am 400 4 speed

stros

  • Oracle Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1618
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #34 on: May 27, 2020, 12:39:13 PM »
Thanks again guys for the help on this one.   Here's the pic, circled the connector in red.


I see these tools out there that look like they perhaps could work, but they seem to be more focused on pulling wires out from the connectors themselves (not so much pulling the connector from a fuse box.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07V618SJQ?pf_rd_r=54RY6YMJC4XK9W24VGMX&pf_rd_p=edaba0ee-c2fe-4124-9f5d-b31d6b1bfbee
Darryl

'77 black TA Hardtop LS3 / 4L70E swap
Build thread:
http://transamcountry.com/community/index.php?topic=61066

b_hill_86

  • Active Forum Member
  • *
  • Posts: 688
Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #35 on: May 27, 2020, 01:18:08 PM »
Yea you’re right those tool are for removing the wire from the connector. The connector must just be read stuck for some reason. There isn’t any locking tab or anything on any of those terminals.
-Brian-

1977 Trans Am 400 4 speed

Re: Power trunk, where to plug in?
« Reply #35 on: May 27, 2020, 01:18:08 PM »
You can help support TAC!

 



2020-B1-3