Author Topic: 1980 Indy Pace Car  (Read 1363 times)

TA6.6Liter

• Oracle Forum Member
1980 Indy Pace Car
« on: May 21, 2017, 06:55:24 PM »
I'm not new to the TAC forum, but I am new to the 1980 Indy Pace Car 301 Turbo.  This weekend I purchased for my wife a 1980 Indy Pace Car.  I already have two, and my wife had wanted an automatic, so this seemed perfect.  I found it about 75 miles from us in Brazil, Indiana.  It had been listed in the Indianapolis Star newspaper for about a week at $19,500.  A week later it dropped to $18,100.  Seemed that the owner was motivated to sell, so on a lark gave him a call.  On May 16, my wife, a fellow TA fan and I made the long trip, arriving about 7:00pm.  First impression was quite good.   

It has just over 45K miles and has only had about 1,300 of those added since 2011.  It looks good other than the ravages of age on the rubber weather-stripping and the lower front grills were pretty much disinigrated and a few scratches and decal cracks.  For some reason, a PO removed the original, onyx colored front seat belts and put in only after-factory, black lap belts; no shoulder belts. So, I'll be searching for a set of originals.  It has been stored in a climate-controlled building, but the interior doesn't look like it has been cleaned since 2011.  The onyx color, being near white, is not easy to keep clean, I'm guessing.  Other than the addition of a dual exhaust, after-factory mini catalytic converter and helper springs on the rear leaf springs for some reason, the car appears to be stock.  Unlike my other thread http://transamcountry.com/community/index.php?topic=56714.0, this one is not up for a restoration.