2020-B2-5

Author Topic: Partial engine rebuild - Completed 5/5/07  (Read 70507 times)

rkellerjr

• Oracle Forum Member
  • When you turn your car on does it return the favor
      • Our Business
Partial engine rebuild - Completed 5/5/07
« on: March 17, 2007, 04:13:51 PM »
Well, there's always a first and this one is mine.  I've never done this before so ya'll will be getting tons of questions.  Here's where I am now...

The start of the project...

Radiator, outta here...

Top of the motor off...

Front of the motor almost off....

I still have the harmonic balancer to take off and the timing cover.  Then I'll start asking some detailed questions.  I want to get the block number so I know what engine I'm dealing with. I have a sneaky suspicion this isn't a '75 400.

The plan now is to take the 'cap' off the top of the engine, to expose the lifters and remove the harmonic balancer and the timing cover off tomorrow.  I just got back from the tool store to get the harmonic puller and a 15/16" socket for the crankshaft bolt.  But tomorrow is when the education part of this will start and where your going to be very important to my education.  My goal with this build is to put in a mild CAM to give this basically stock engine some pep.  With that I'll be replacing the timing chain, lifters, and water pump plus gasket sets of course.  

Last thing, I want to make it very clear, your dealing with someone who doesn't know a lot about engines but am willing to learn, of course.  I have my service manual for the '75 as well as the Chiltons and Haynes manual so if you need to refer to those by all means do.

With that said here's my first question which I discovered with my dissassembly...